Wild Jungle Peanut Noodles

I still remember the first time I had Cold Peanut Noodles. I was quite young and living in a small town in Connecticut. They completely blew my mind with their silky, creamy sauce and the chewy noodles. I could not get enough of these delicious peanut covered strands.

My love affair with peanut noodles continued and I became quite good at making them. When I went gluten-free I found new noodles, no problem. When I went raw, well that’s taken some time.

I’ve developed some good peanut-noodle-like sauces using raw almond butter, quite satisfying if not the real thing. Noodles have been different. Occasionally I’ll create a good batch with zucchini “noodles” but I cannot say I’m a big fan of veggie noodles. Veggie rice, yes…veggies noodles, not so much.

Then Sea Tangle kelp noodles came into my life. I could see some real possibility there to create some delicious asian inspired noodle dishes. Once I started working for Vivapura the last piece of the puzzle fell into place: Wild Jungle Peanut Butter.

Wild Jungle Peanut Butter Noodles
Wild Jungle Peanut Noodles

2 bags Sea Tangle Kelp Noodles, soaked in warm water
2 inches ginger, peeled and minced
2 limes, juiced
1/3 cup olive oil
1 tbs. raw, local honey or other liquid sweetener
2 tbs. nama shoyu or wheat-free tamari
1 tbs. apple cider vinegar
1 container Wild Jungle Peanut Butter
1/3 cup water
1/2 tsp. salt
1 bunch of cilantro, stems trimmed
1 red pepper, chopped
2 large carrots, shredded
1 hothouse cucumber, shredded
garnish: a handful of Wild Jungle Peanuts

Combine ginger, lime juice, olive oil, sweetener, tamari, vinegar, peanut butter and salt in a food processor. Start processing. While the food processor is running pour in water. Sauce should be thick and creamy when processed enough. Add in cilantro and pulse until well combined but not smooth, little flecks of cilantro should be seen.

Next, drain noodles and combine noodles & sauce with remaining ingredients in a large bowl. Excellent with a side of kim chee or even wrapped in Nori.
Tuesdays blog: Goji Cranberry Sauce

7 responses to “Wild Jungle Peanut Noodles

  1. Hi Viva,
    Would love to make the noodles however what substitute do you suggest for the tamari and nama shoyu. I do not use soy or grain products in my diet as they are complex sugars. They can contribute to malabsorption syndrome and inflammatory bowel disease. Any thoughts. Would love to make some of the more asian recipes but not with soy or grain products.
    Thanks,
    Sheila
    PS Where do I get tangled kelp noodles!!!!

    • You could use Umeboshi Plum Vinegar instead. This is not a true vinegar but rather the brine that umeboshi plums are fermented in. It has a very savory and salty taste. If you do beans other than soy a diluted chickpea miso would also work. I personally do not use Nama Shoyu due to celiac and only occasionally use wheat-free tamari. I have found the first two substitutes to work well in asian style dishes.

      You can order Sea Tangle kelp noodles from their website by the box. Many health food stores carry them in their refrigerated section as well.

  2. Many thanks, Erika, for the suggestion. I work with so much IBD, celiac included, that I do not use any of the bean, grain based salty liquids seasonings or pastes. Will try the noodles soon. Got your wild jungle peanut butter in town, tastes great. Love, Sheila

  3. Pingback: Wild Jungle Peanut Slaw « Vivapura·

  4. Kelp Noodle Recipe Modifications:

    I made the kelp noodles WITHOUT soy or namo shoyu or oil or vinegar or honey…this is what I did and I found it DELISCIOUS 🙂 It probably tastes way different from Erika’s – but I thought I would post this for others in case they had other dietary restrictions.

    In my Vitamix, I blended: (one person serving)

    H20 (about 1/8-1/4 cup)
    Vivapura Wild Jungle Peanut Butter (a few tablespoons)
    Organic Lime (squeezed)
    Fresh Ginger root (a small piece)
    Fresh Garlic (one clove)
    Hot Pepper (small red one)
    Himalayan Salt (pinch)

    TOPPING:
    Fresh Basil leaves ripped into little pieces
    1/2 Organic Red pepper cut into strips
    Vivapura Really Raw Cashews (one small handful)
    1/2 Orgniac Avocado cut into strips
    Himalayan Salt (pinch)
    Organic lemon (a few squeezes)

    I personally try not to use to many oils, and prefer fats from whole raw food sources..hence why I added the avocado, and raw chashews..rather than the olive oil.

    I try to make my own sauces/dressings from scratch…I found the taste combo of the basil and lime with the cashews and wild jungle peanut butter amazing…

    In terms of the noodles, http://www.kelpnoodles.com/ is the web page for the noodles that I used.

    Thank you Erika for the inspiration!!!! I wouldn’t of experimented with this at all if it wasn’t for you! (and Jody telling me about your blog post)

    Yay, happy experimenting!
    Eva

  5. Pingback: Day 2 « raw map·

Leave a Reply

