Deep Earth Chocolate Pie

Earlier this fall there was a Pie Auction in Patagonia. The Pie Auction went to support the local Community Garden. The Vivapura crew decided it would be fun to submit a raw pie to the festivities. I was in charge of creating a pie. I came up with the Deep Earth pie but it was sort of on the fly. I had some ideas but only one round to get the recipe worked out.

Since then I’ve been tweaking the pie and getting requests for the recipe. Here I share the most current version I’ve worked out.

Deep Earth Chocolate Pie
Deep Earth Chocolate Pie

2 cups Deep Earth Trail Mix
1/2 cup Cacao Butter, melted
1 cup Cacao Powder
1 tbs. Vanilla Powder
Meat of 1 Thai Coconut or 1/2 of a ripe avocado
1 tbs. Coconut Flour
1/2 cup Lucuma Vanilla Coconut Creme, melted
1/4 cup Coconut Oil, melted
1/2 cup raw local honey or favored liquid sweetener
1/4-1/2 cup coconut water or nutmilk
pinch of himalayan pink salt
garnish: Coconut Chips

For the crust: Place Deep Earth Trail Mix in a food processor. Process until a crumbly, coarse texture achieved. Mix ground trail mix in with cacao butter. Spread mixture in a pie tin to form a crust. Put tin in freezer to set crust.

For filling: Place remaining ingredients in food processor except for the coconut water or nutmilk. Process and add liquid through spout to facilitate blending. Filling should be smooth but thick, like ganache.

Once pie crust is set spread filling in the crust evenly. Garnish with coconut chips. Let set in refrigerator until filling is firm.

Coming up Monday: Carrot Cupcakes with Lemon Frosting!

3 responses to “Deep Earth Chocolate Pie

  1. Greetings! The recipes here are fanstastic. Thanks for having this site. I found your site while looking for another one on Bing. I don’t have time to read all the articles here right now, but I have bookmarked this site and will return very soon to see the latest. I love reading about cooking, it is my favorite past-time. I can’t wait to try them out on my family. They think I’m nuts (and maybe they are right lol) when they see me at work in the kitchen. Visit my site if you’d like to read more. Thanks again – great site!

Leave a Reply

