Raw Apple Cider Pumpkin Donuts

Growing up in New England fall has always meant certain things to me: crackling leaves under foot, trees dressed in bright colors, crisp air, crisp apples and donuts. Yes, donuts. Not just any donuts Apple Cider Donuts and Pumpkin Donuts. Always small and plump, gently sweet, scented with cinnamon and deep fried (if you’re lucky, not in lard!).

Now fall is very different. For one, I live in Arizona. There is a crackle under my feet but it’s dead grass because we’ve entered the dry season. When I wake in the morning the air is crisp and chilly but by lunch time it’s 80 degrees (not complaining!). As far as donuts go, well celiac disease has effectively closed the donut eating portion of my life. Well, celiac and a wonderfully raw diet.

I desire donuts though. When I heard there was going to be a Raw Halloween party in town with a treat contest that offered fabulous prizes like facials massages & colonics (!) I decided to cave into my desire to create a raw donut.
The Donut Fairy
I whipped up a test batch, worked out the kinks and made myself a fairy costume. I brought the donuts to the party and won! And now I share this terribly nostalgic recipe with you all.

Raw Apple Cider Pumpkin Donuts
Apple Cider Pumpkin Donuts

3 cups small pie pumpkin, peeled and chopped
4 apples juiced
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup Raw Cashews, ground to coarse powder
1/4 cup Coconut Oil, melted
1/4 cup Original Coconut Creme
1/4 cup honey or liquid sweetener of choice
2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. powdered suma

Add pumpkin and apple juice to high powered blender and blend until smooth. Add this and remaining ingredients to a mixing bowl and mix until well combined. A soft and fluffy dough should be the result. Carefully shape into donuts or donut holes, trying not to compress too much.

Place onto non-stick dehydrator sheets. Dehydrate at 115 degrees for 2 to 3 hours until dry enough to place on screens. Dehydrate for another 8 to 10 hours. Donuts should be lightly crispy on the outside and moist on the inside.

Glaze:

1/4 cup Coconut Oil, melted
1/4 cup honey or liquid sweetener of choice
1/4 cup Lucuma Vanilla Coconut Creme, melted

Mix ingredients in a bowl. They will separate a bit so mix quickly and pour over cooled donuts for a glazed effect. For more of a frosting allow the glaze to solidify a little and then mix, carefully spreading over the donuts.

These are best eaten right away, just like the old-fashioned fried ones!

5 responses to “Raw Apple Cider Pumpkin Donuts

  1. I found you thru Courtney (Radical RAdiance’s) blog…and thank god I did. I saw a pic of these donuts on her blog and I came to your blog hoping to scour it for the recipe and BAM it’s the first thing I See. Serendipity for a raw vegan un-baking dessert maniac like myself 🙂 I will be making these soon.

    The 2 ingredients I dont have on hand are the coconut creme or the coconut flour. People ask me all the time about substitutions and I am always like yeah, try it b/c with my recipes, more than likely it will work.

    However with this, I dont wanna mess with a good thing….

    Flours I have would be almond, or any type of ground nut, i.e. cashew, walnut, even oats, etc…

    Suggestions? I need to make these!
    xoxo
    averie

    • I’m so happy you’re excited about the recipe! As far as substituting the flour you could try but coconut flour has very different properties from those you listed. Coconut flour is mostly fiber so it holds water without loosing it’s fluffiness. It gives recipes a lot of shape and volume which is harder to achieve with the nut and grain flours in a raw recipe.

      Good luck making them!

  2. Oh and I just re-read this with better eyes….
    I live in AZ too!!!! I just moved to Phoenix 8 weeks ago from San Diego and don’t know a soul. I am meeting up with a food blogger tomorrow who also lives in the area.

    Write me my love, tell me, do you live in Phx by any chance??!!

    • Our company is actually based in Patagonia, AZ. That’s where I live as well. If you ever find yourself in Southern AZ make sure to come visit us!

Leave a Reply

